Takeo province is often referred to as the cradle of Cambodian civilization. It is 3,563 square kilometres big and the South of the country bordering to the North and East with Kandal, to the West with Kampong Speu and Kampot and to the South with Vietnam. It has tropical climate - warm and humid throughout the year. The province is subdivided into 10 districts, 100 communes and 1117 villages.

The province consists of the typical plain wet area for Cambodia, covering rice fields and other agricultural plantations. The economy consists basically of agricultural farming, fishery, rice and fruit cropping. The current population in this province is 924,758 people covering 6.4% of the country's total population. The population density is therefore 259.5 people per square kilometer. The province also attracts many travelers with its fair amount of natural and manmade beauty.

List of districts & experimental sites

The ongoing SRI-LMB experimental sites in the selected districts of Takeo province are listed below:

  • Tram Kak - Leay Bo, Porpel, Udom Soriya and Tropaing Kro Nhoung
  • Prey Kabas - Prey Phdao, Champa, Prey Kabas, and Angkanh
  • Bati - Putsor, Kandoeng, Pea Ream, and Kraing Leav



Provincial Staff

Ms. Mel Chantavy
Local Management Unit Coordinator
Provincial Department of Agriculture of Takeo province
Snor village, Sangkat Roka Khnong,
Krong Doun Keo, Takeo province
Phone: 012 715 726
Email: melchanntevy@yahoo.com